To the People of the Land

To the People of the Land: Carrizo/Comecrudo Solidarity Compilation is a new benefit compilation to raise funds for the Estok’Gna (aka the Carrizo/Comecrudo Tribe of Texas). The 31-track compilation, curated by Jordan Moser and Keeled Scales, includes contributions from Big Thief, Sharon Van Etten, Black Belt Eagle Scout, Aisha Burns, Tenci, Christelle Bofale, Molly Burch, and many more. The full compilation arrives October 9. Find the tracklist and cover (featuring artwork by Samantha Wendel) below.

Currently, there are several liquid natural gas terminals and pipelines that are planned to cross through the Estok’Gna’s sacred land. There is also a Texas law that deems it illegal to interfere with the construction of a pipeline and makes it a felony to “enter or remain on or in a critical infrastructure facility and intentionally or knowingly damages or destroys the facility.” That law makes it difficult to protest the construction of pipelines. Proceeds from the To the People of the Land compilation will support the tribe in its efforts to combat the construction of the pipelines

Read Pitchfork’s 2019 Rising feature “Black Belt Eagle Scout Is Bringing Queer Indigenous Stories to Indie Rock.”

To the People of the Land: Carrizo/Comecrudo Solidarity Compilation:

01 Aisha Burns: “Chinati”
02 Pablo.: “Looking Within (Land Back)” [ft. Andy Torres]
03 Black Belt Eagle Scout: “My Blood Runs Through This Land”
04 Sun June: “16 Riders (demo)”
05 Molly Burch: “Every Little Thing (demo)”
06 Tenci: “Cold Dirty Water (demo)”
07 Big Thief: “Jane (demo)”
08 Renée Reed: “J’ai Trouvé”
09 Little Wings: “Movin Right Along”
10 Justin Boyd / Thor Harris: “The Godless Sky Looks On in Disbelief”
11 Jolie Holland: “Painted Bird”
12 Will Johnson: “Need of Trust and Thunder (demo)”
13 Julian Neel: “Carolina Wren”
14 Christelle Bofale: “And I’ll Go (demo)”
15 Jesse Wooten: “Sometimes to Rise”
16 Tele Novella: “He Needs Me”
17 Jess Williamson: “Harm None (live)”
18 Sleep Good: “Summertime Feeling”
19 Little Mazarn: “Bury Me Not on the Lone Prairie”
20 RF Shannon: “Cedar Perfume”
21 Sharon Van Etten: “Untitled”
22 Jo Schornikow: “Election Year”
23 Twain: “The Kiss (demo)”
24 Karima Walker: “Uncovering”
25 Longriver: “The Way That It Is (alternate version)”
26 Jackie Venson: “Lost in Time (live)”
27 Jesse Woods: “Shattering My Shadow”
28 Jordan Moser: “Limestone Trail”
29 Cowboy Crisis: “Humming Still Goes Walking By”
30 Erin Duran: “Highway Blue (demo)”
31 Future Museums: “Jojoba Joy”

Source link


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here